From The Neolithic To The Sea: A Journey From The Past To The Present

Conwy County Borough

Coat of Arms


Conwy Castle

Great Orme
Conwy County Borough is located in North Wales and is named after the River Conwy. One third of the borough lies within the Snowdonia national park.

The county was formed in 1996 by merging the districts of Aberconey and Colwyn.

The borough contains the major settlements of Llandudno, Llandudno Junction, Llanrwst, Betws-y-Coed, Conwy, Colwyn Bay, Abergele, Penmaenmawr and Llanfairfechan, and has a total population of 115,000, the vast majority of which lives along the coast.