From The Neolithic To The Sea: A Journey From The Past To The Present

Tyne and Wear


Angel of the North
Tynemouth Priory
Tyne and Wear is a metropolitan county in North East region of England around the mouths of the Rivers Tyne and Wear.

It came into existence as a metropolitan county in 1974 after the passage of the Local Government Act 1972. It consists of the five metropolitan boroughs of South Tyneside, North Tyneside, City of Newcastle upon Tyne, Gateshead and the City of Sunderland.

Tyne and Wear County Council was abolished in 1986, and so its districts (the metropolitan boroughs) are now unitary authorities. However, the metropolitan county continues to exist in law and as a geographic frame of reference.